Program - Awards


Awards Ceremony: October 2, Tuesday, 6:30-7pm
Location:  International Ballroom

Awardees to be honored at 2018 DSCC

List of Best Student Paper Finalists

  • Sahand Sadeghi, Blake D. Betsill, Phanindra Tallapragada, and Suyi Li DSCC2018-8969: The Effect of Nonlinear Springs in Jumping Mechanism
  • Poya Khalaf, Holly Warner, Elizabeth Hardin, Hanz Richter, and Daniel Simon DSCC2018-9091: Development and Experimental Validation of an Energy Regenerative Prosthetic Knee Controller and Prototype
  • Abhinav Tripathi, Chen Zhang, and Zongxuan Sun DSCC2018-9184: Experimental Investigation and Analysis of Auto-Ignition Combustion Dynamics
  • Bingjie Hao, Kok Meng Lee, and Kun Bai DSCC2018-9211: Eddy-Current Dynamic Model for Simultaneous Geometrical and Material Parameter Measurements of Magnetic Materials
  • Huan Yu, Shumon Koga, and Miroslav Krstic DSCC2018-9239: Stabilization of Traffic Flow with Autonomous Vehicles

ASME DSCD Kalman Best Paper Award

  • Kræn Vodder Busk, MAN Energy Solutions, Denmark
  • Mogens Blanke, Technical University of Denmark
  • Lars Eriksson, Linköping University, Sweden
  • Morten Vejlgaard-Laursen, Maersk, Denmark

for their paper “Control-Oriented Model of Molar Scavenge Oxygen Fraction for Exhaust Recirculation in Large Diesel Engines”, Journal of Dynamic Systems, Measurement, and Control, 139(2), 021007, February 2017 ASME DSCD

ASME DSCD Charles Stark Draper Innovative Practice Award

Anna Stefanopoulou

Prof. Anna Stefanopoulou

Prof. Anna Stefanopoulou is the William Clay Ford Professor of Manufacturing at the University of Michigan. She was an assistant professor at the University of California, Santa Barbara and a technical specialist at Ford Motor Company. She is an ASME (08), an IEEE (09) and a SAE (18) fellow, an elected member of the Executive Committee of the ASME Dynamics Systems and Control Division and the Board of Governors of the IEEE Control Systems Society. She has received multiple awards in powertrain control technology and was a member of a U.S. National Academies committee on Light Duty Vehicle fuel efficiency. She has co-authored a book, 20 US patents, 250 publications (5 of which have received awards) on estimation and control of internal combustion engines and electrochemical processes such as fuel cells and batteries.

Henry M. Paynter Outstanding Investigator Award

Tsu-Chin Tsa

Dr. Tsu-Chin Tsao

Dr. Tsu-Chin Tsao (B.S. National Taiwan University, M.S. and Ph.D. University of California Berkeley), a Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), is Professor at UCLA Henry Samuelli School of Engineering and Applied Science Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department. He has been an active contributor in the academic communities and has served leadership roles as Department Chair, technical divisions and committees in ASME and International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC), and conference program chairs and journal editors. Dr. Tsao’s research areas are in controls and mechatronics with applications in manufacturing, robotics, and other engineered systems. Recognitions of his research include ASME Journal of Dynamic Systems, Measurement, and Control Best Paper Award, ASME DSCD Outstanding Young Investigator Award, American Automatic Control Council Hugo S. Shuck Best Paper Award, International Symposium on Flexible Automation Best Paper Award, and IFAC Mechatronic Systems Award.

ASME DSCD Michael J. Rabins Leadership Award

Kok-Meng Lee

Dr. Kok-Meng Lee

Dr. Kok-Meng Lee is a Professor in George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology and a Distinguished Professor in School of Mechanical Science and Engineering at Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China. He received his S. M. and Ph. D. degrees in mechanical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1982 and 1985 respectively. His research interests include system dynamics and control, robotics, automation, machine vision and mechatronics. Dr. Lee is a fellow of IEEE and ASME. Recognitions of his research contributions include the NSF Presidential Young Investigator (PYI) Award, Sigma Xi Junior Faculty Award, International Hall of Fame New Technology Award, and Woodruff Faculty Fellow. Dr. Lee is founding Editor-in-Chief for the Springer International Journal on Intelligent Robotics and Applications. Prior to this appointment, he served as Editor-in-Chief (2008-2013) and Technical Editor (1995-1999) for the IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics. He was IEEE/ASME AIM General Co-Chair (1997) and General Chair (1999) and as ASME Liaison for IEEE/ASME AIM (1999-2013, 2017-persent).

Nyquist Lecturer

Huei Peng

Dr. Huei Peng

Dr. Huei Peng received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley in 1992. He is now a Professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Michigan. His research interests include adaptive control and optimal control, with emphasis on their applications to vehicular and transportation systems. His current research focuses include design and control of electrified vehicles, and connected/automated vehicles. In the last 10 years, he was involved in the design of several military and civilian concept vehicles, including FTTS, FMTV, Eaton/Fedex, and Super-HUMMWV—for both electric and hydraulic hybrid concepts. He served as the US Director of the DOE sponsored Clean Energy Research Center—Clean Vehicle Consortium, which supports more than 30 research projects related to the development of clean vehicles in the US and in China. He currently serves as the Director of Mcity, which studies connected and autonomous vehicle technologies and promotes their deployment. He has served as the PI or co-PI of more than 50 research projects, with a total funding of more than 50 million dollars. He has more than 250 technical publications, including 110 in referred journals and transactions and four books. His h-index is 69 according to the Google scholar analysis. The total number of citations to his work is more than 18,000. He believes in setting high expectation and helping students to exceed it by selecting innovative research topics with real impact. One of his proudest achievements is that more than half of his Ph.D. students have each published at least one paper cited more than 100 times. Huei Peng has been an active member of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). He is both an SAE fellow and an ASME Fellow. He is a ChangJiang Scholar at the Tsinghua University of China.

Oldenburger Medalist

Roberto Horowitz

Roberto Horowitz

Roberto Horowitz is the current chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at UC Berkeley and holds the James Fife Endowed Chair in the College of Engineering. He received a B.S. degree with highest honors in 1978 and a Ph.D. degree in 1983 in mechanical engineering from the University of California at Berkeley and became a faculty member of the Mechanical Engineering Department in 1982. Dr. Horowitz teaches and conducts research in the areas of adaptive, learning, nonlinear and optimal control, with applications to Micro-Electromechanical Systems (MEMS), computer disk file systems, robotics, mechatronics and Intelligent Vehicle and Highway Systems (IVHS). He is a former co-director of the Partners for Advanced Transportation Technology (PATH) research center at U.C. Berkeley. Dr. Horowitz is a member of IEEE and ASME and the recipient of the 2010 ASME Dynamic Systems and Control Division (DSCD) Henry M. Paynter Outstanding Investigator Award.