NanoEngineering for Medicine
and Biology Conference

Omni Los Angeles Hotel, California Plaza, CA, USA

August 21-24, 2018 Exhibition
August 22-23, 2018



Plenary Speakers

Gang Bao

Gang Bao

Track Title: Nanomedicine and Genome Editing Approaches for Disease Therapies

Dr. Gang Bao is the Foyt Family Chair Professor in the Department of Bioengineering, Rice University. He is a CPRIT Senior Scholar and the Director of Nanomedicine Center for Nucleoprotein Machines at Rice. Dr. Bao received his undergraduate and Master’s degrees from Shandong University in China, and his PhD from Lehigh University in the US. Dr. Bao is a Fellow of the American Association of Advancement in Science (AAAS), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), American Physical Society (APS), American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE), and Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES).

Dr. Bao’s current research is focused on the development of nanotechnology and Biomolecular engineering tools for biological and disease studies, including multifunctional magnetic nanoparticles, protein tagging/targeting methods, and engineered nucleases such as CRISPR/Cas9. These approaches have been applied to the diagnosis and treatment of chronic diseases such as cancer, and the development of genome editing approaches for treating single-gene disorders.

Aydogan Ozcan

Aydogan Ozcan

Track Title: Mobile Microscopy, Sensing and Diagnostics for Point-of-Care Medicine and Global Health

Dr. Ozcan is the Chancellor’s Professor at UCLA and an HHMI Professor with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, leading the Bio- and Nano-Photonics Laboratory at UCLA School of Engineering and is also the Associate Director of the California NanoSystems Institute. Dr. Ozcan holds 37 issued patents and >20 pending patent applications and is also the author of one book and the co-author of >500 peer-reviewed publications in major scientific journals and conferences. Dr. Ozcan is the founder and a member of the Board of Directors of Holomic/Cellmic LLC, which was named a Technology Pioneer by The World Economic Forum in 2015. Dr. Ozcan is a Fellow of the International Photonics Society (SPIE), the Optical Society of America (OSA), the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE), the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), and the Guggenheim Foundation, and has received major awards including the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, International Commission for Optics Prize, Biophotonics Technology Innovator Award, Rahmi M. Koc Science Medal, International Photonics Society Early Career Achievement Award, Army Young Investigator Award, NSF CAREER Award, NIH Director’s New Innovator Award, Navy Young Investigator Award, IEEE Photonics Society Young Investigator Award and Distinguished Lecturer Award, National Geographic Emerging Explorer Award, National Academy of Engineering The Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering Award and MIT’s TR35 Award for his seminal contributions to computational imaging, sensing and diagnostics.  The Ozcan Research Group at UCLA

Kumar Wickramasinghe

H. Kumar Wickramasinghe

Track Title: AFM Tools for Biological Applications

Nicolaos G  and Sue Curtis Alexopoulos Presidential Chair and
The Henry Samueli Endowed Chair Professor
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Biomedical Engineering
Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
University of California, Irvine

Kumar Wickramasinghe, Ph.D., is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and respected pioneer in nanotechnology. Prior to joining UC Irvine, Wickramasinghe managed nanoscience and technology research at IBM’s Almaden Research Center in San Jose, California.

Prof. Wickramasinghe received a Ph.D. from the University of London in Electrical Engineering in 1974, and a B.Sc. from the same institution in 1970. Following a post-doctoral appointment at Stanford University, he joined the faculty in the Electrical Engineering Department at University College London in 1978.

In 1984, Wickramasinghe moved to the IBM Research at the T. J. Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, N.Y. where he was manager of physical measurements and chief scientist, manufacturing research. He led the team that developed atomic force microscopes (AFMs) into fully hardened instruments that are used both within IBM and world-wide. Holding over 100 patents, some of his most significant inventions and contributions to the nano field include the development of the vibrating mode (on non contact) atomic force microscope (AFM), the magnetic force microscope, the electrostatic force microscope, the Kelvin probe force microscope, the scanning thermal microscope, and the apertureless near-field optical microscope. These scanning probe microscopes are the eyes used to see and measure the nanotechnology products being developed around the world.

In 2000, he was appointed IBM Fellow - the company’s highest technical honor- by Lou Gerstner, Chairman and CEO of IBM. In 2001, Wickramasinghe moved to IBM Almaden Research Center where he initiated and led the work on Storage Class Memory; a novel semiconductor memory aimed at replacing mobile disk drives. He was named senior manager of nanoscale science and technology in 2002. In 2005, he was made CTO of Science and Technology at Almaden. In 2006, he joined the Henry Samueli School of Engineering at the University of California, Irvine and was named The Henry Samueli Endowed Chair and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. In 2008 he helped raise funds and co-founded the Sri Lanka Institute of Nanotechnology at Biyagama, Sri Lanka.

Wickramasinghe has received several awards including the IEEE Best Paper Award (in the IEEE publication, Group on Sonics and Ultrasonics Transactions) in 1982, the V. K. Zworykin Premium award of the IEE in 1983, and the IEEE Morris E. Leeds Award in 1992. He was named Distinguished Corporate Inventor of the National Inventors Hall of Fame in 1998 and was chosen to be a Centennial Lecturer for the American Physical Society in 1999. In 2000, Wickramasinghe and Calvin Quate of Stanford U. received the American Physical Society's Joseph F. Keithley Award for their "pioneering contributions to nanoscale measurement science through their leadership in the development of a range of nanoscale force microscopes that have had major impact in many areas of physics."  His AFM jet device for rapid molecule sorting and delivery was named one of the 25 most innovative products of 2006 in the inaugural “Micro/Nano 25” competition held by the editors of R&D magazine and in 2006 he received the Scientific American 50 Award for devising a technique for ultrafast DNA sequencing using atomic force microscopes. In 2014 he was elected to the National Academy of Inventors NAI - a distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society. In 2014 he was also awarded the UCI Senate Distinguished Faculty Award for Research.

Stefanie Jeffrey (Stanford University)

Track Title: Liquid Biopsy: a Field Rife with Opportunities and Challenges

James Heath (Institute for Systems Biology)

Track Title: Technologies for Personalizing Cancer Immunotherapies

Prof. Luke Lee (University of California, Berkeley)

Track Title: Quantum Biophotonic Electron Transfer and Its Applications in Medicine: Ultrafast Precision Molecular Diagnostics